Software testing is an essential part of software development that helps ensure the quality and reliability of a product. It involves a systematic examination of the application to uncover any potential defects or problems. To effectively evaluate the quality of a software application, different levels of testing are applied to verify the functionality, performance, and compatibility of the product. In this article, we will explore the various levels of software testing and their significance in the software development process.

So how many levels of software testing, let’s find out with Novatesting.

Level 1: Unit Testing

Level 2: Integration Testing

Level 3: System Testing

Level 4: Acceptance Testing

Level 1: Unit Testing

Unit Testing is the first stage in software testing. Unit Testing is performed to test and determine whether the individual modules of the source code are working properly. The purpose of unit testing is as follows:

> Determine whether each software unit is performing according to the original design.

> Help to overcome the arising due to the change or maintenance of the code.

> Save cost and time when detecting errors.

Level 2: Integration Testing

Each software project is completed by many modules written by different people. Integration Testing is a level of software integration testing of individual units that are combined and tested as a group through focusing on testing data transfer between modules.

The purpose of the Integration Testing phase is to find and detect errors when integrating modules together. To conduct Integration Testing there are 4 approaches including: big bang, top down, bottom up and sandwich/hybrid.

Level 3: System Testing – System Testing

System Testing is the 3rd phase of software testing that allows complete and integrated software to be tested. System Testing focuses more on the functionality of the entire system. System testing includes promotion testing and non-promotion testing.

The purpose of System Testing is to check whether the design and the entire system after integration comply with pre-defined requirements. Therefore, System Testing pays great attention to the behaviors and errors that appear on the system. The person who performs the System Testing phase is usually a tester who is completely independent from the project development team.

Level 4: Acceptance Testing

Acceptance Testing is performed by the customer or delegated to a third group to check that the newly built system is in accordance with the requirements of the previous customer or not. The purpose of Acceptance Testing is to confirm confidence in the system, functional or non-functional properties of the system.

There are 2 types of acceptance testing which are Alpha Testing and Beta Testing.

Novatesting has brought you an overview of the four levels of software testing which represents four phases of a full testing process. We hope that with this knowledge, you can better your product quality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *